Stiefvater Law, LLC
DUI Lawyers & Criminal Attorneys

216-867-0429

Your Subtitle text

Traffic Penalties - License - Points - Fines

The BMV will suspend your license if you have 12 or more points.  Points are received when you are convicted of a moving violation.  One violation can be either 2, 4, or 6 points.  If you have been charged with a traffic violation, you are also facing Ohio's misdemeanor penalties.

If you have 2 points but less than 12 on your driver’s license, you may take a remedial class that will prevent your license from being suspended until you have reached 14 points.

Many insurance companies will drastically increase your insurance premiums as points are added to your license.  In the insurance company’s eyes, points are seen as an increased risk of accident and liability.

Contact a Traffic Ticket Lawyer to prevent points on your license.

Ohio’s License Point System is divided into three categories:

2 Point Violations: 

Exceeding a speed limit of 55mph or higher by more than 10mph but less than 30mph;

Exceeding a speed limit of less than 55mph by more than 5mph but less than 30mph;

Operating a vehicle in violation of a restriction imposed by the Registrar; and

All other moving violations including operating a vehicle without a license.

4 Point Violations: 

Operation of a vehicle after underage consumption;

Operation of a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard of safety of persons or property (Reckless Operation); and

Exceeding the speed limit by more than 30mph.
6 Point Violations: 

Aggravated vehicular homicide, vehicular homicide, vehicular manslaughter;

Aggravated vehicular assault, vehicular assault;

Willful fleeing and eluding, failure to stop and disclose identity at an accident;

Street racing (Drag racing);

Driving under suspension (DUS);

Operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, drug of abuse, or both (DUI/OVI);

Unauthorized use of a motor vehicle; and

Any felony motor vehicle violation or any felony committed with a motor vehicle.